OREGON MOPED, MOTORIZED SCOOTER, POCKET BIKE GUIDE - PDF
The classification into 50cc 125cc or 150cc depends on the power of the motor and the maximum speed. If the power is between 1000 (1 kW) and 4000 (4 kW) Watts, and the speed does not exceed 45km/h, then electric scooter is a 50 cc equivalence.
50cc /125 cc bikes are made for daily office commuters, high wear and tear and main reason is to make it affordable to more people, till date the maximum bikes are sold in this category only. They are good for short distance rides, beach cruising, campus cruising, inner-town travel, etc. and in most states, you do not need a motorcycle license just a regular drivers license.
150 cc Bikes: are suppose to be the start point of premium segment and for more enthusiastic bikers who require more power and performance. they cost also higher than the 100/125 cc bikes. In most states you will need a driver’s license and most likely a motorcycle license to drive anything over 50ccs on public roads, and you will most likely need to register and possibly insure your 150cc motor scooter as well.
Keep that in mind, as having a 50cc / 125cc moped means with a top speed of either 30mph or 60mph.
Some scooters, such as the Fat Gator, have a 3000 (3 kW) Watts power, but reach a 70km/h speed and are thus also classified as the 125cc category. While due to the function to limit max speed to 45kmh, and it's fall under 50cc then.
You don't need to have insurance for a moped or motor scooter in Florida, but if you’re found to be at fault in a crash, you will be held financially responsible for any injuries and property damage
Before buying a two-wheeled moped / scooter or motorcycle, first thing comes to mind would be how do I get it registered, what would be state’s laws to ride my new bike on the streets legally! We sort up below moped / bike laws by STATE, read on to find the rules and regulations in your area.
Other Types like Scooters, Mopeds etc: https://www.dmv.org/other-types.php
What exactly is a scooter? Motorized bicycle? Or an electric bike, for that matter? Do you need the same kind of license for them as you do a traditional motorcycle?
Well, yes and no. Let’s find out how the state defines these other types of motorized vehicles and whether you need to get a special license or endorsement with the California Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV).
California defines motor-driven cycles as motorcycles with engines of 149 cc or less. (The motor-driven cycle category doesn’t include motorized bicycles.)
Note that you:
You need a motorcycle license OR M2 endorsement to operate most motorized bikes or mopeds.
Motorized bikes and mopeds in California are defined as having:
NOTE: CA law requires manufacturers of mopeds to notify buyers that their insurance provider may not cover mopeds. Contact your insurance provider to find out if your motorized bicycle is covered.
You will need to obtain a specialty license plate and ID Card for your motorized bicycle. To apply complete a Motorized Bicycle (Moped) Instructions/Application (Form REG 230) and submit it along with payment for the $23 fee to the address listed on the form.
California defines motorized scooters as having:
You can operate a motorized scooter with any class of valid CA driver’s license or permit and without registering it with the DMV.
California electric bicycles have:
You don’t need a driver’s license or an endorsement to operate an electric bike in CA; however, it’s important to understand the state’s regulations when it comes to operating these types of bikes.
There are 3 classes of electric bicycles:
Class 3 electric bike operators:
Florida defines mopeds, scooters, and motorized bikes differently than regular motorcycles, so the license and registration requirements tend to differ, too.
Let’s find out what type of motor-driven cycle you’re zipping around on and whether you need a license and registration from the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV).
In Florida, a moped is a vehicle that has:
To operate a moped in Florida, you must:
FL Florida defines a motorized scooter as a vehicle that:
When it comes to riding a motorized scooter in Florida, you:
A motorized bicycle is one that:
You must be at least 16 years old to ride a motorized bike in Florida, but do NOT need a driver’s license to operate one.
Contact your local FLHSMV agent if you have further questions about motorized bicycles.
Low-speed motor vehicles like scooters, mopeds, or motorized bicycles can be a fun way to get from Point A to Point B. If you’ve got your eye on one, make sure the vehicle is legal and that you have the proper driving credentials before you spend your money.
The New York Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) is clear on which vehicles are legal and what you need to operate them. We’ll break it down for you below.
Looking for motorcycle info?
Mopeds, also known as limited-use motorcycles, are legal to ride in New York as long as you have the proper license and registration for your vehicle. You DO NOT need a title for your moped.
The New York DMV classifies mopeds based on the maximum speed they can travel. Let’s go through each classification.
*NOTE: All mopeds must be registered and insured. The registration process is the same for mopeds as for all other vehicles in New York. Head over to our page on NY vehicle registration for a helpful guide.
While driving your Class A moped, you’ll be able to use all lanes of traffic.
To operate these machines, you must:
Next up is the Class B limited-use motorcycle, which has a top speed range of between 20 and 30 MPH.
Class B moped riders must ONLY use the right lane or shoulder, EXCEPT when turning left.
These vehicles must be:
Safety inspections are recommended for Class B mopeds, but are NOT required.
A Class C moped maxes out at a speed of no higher than 20 MPH.
Similar to a Class B, while riding a Class C moped you must stay in the right lane or shoulder, unless you are turning left.
You can ride a Class C moped if:
The NY DMV recommends you get a safety inspection for your Class C moped, but it is NOT required.
The following vehicles cannot be registered and are illegal to drive on New York roads:
Before you hit the road with your motor scooter, you need the proper license or endorsement with the Mississippi Department of Public Safety (DPS) and registration with the Department of Revenue’s (DOR) Motor Vehicle Licensing Bureau.
You also need to know whether your cycle is actually a motor scooter or just a toy vehicle.
Mississippi defines a motor scooter as a vehicle with:
In Mississippi law, the term “motorcycle” includes motor scooters. As such, you must have a motorcycle license or endorsement to ride a motor scooter in MS. You’ll also need to register your motor scooter with the MVS the same way you would register a standard motorcycle.
You MUST wear a helmet that meets American Association of Motor Vehicle Administrators (AAMVA) criteria whenever you ride your motor scooter.
NOTE: If your motor scooter was manufactured in 1980 or later, it must have a vehicle identification number (VIN) with 17 digits and an attached decal verifying the VIN conforms to National Highway and Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) standards.
If your cycle doesn’t meet the federal safety requirements or the above criteria for motor scooters, the state considers it a “toy vehicle” and you can’t title or register it, meaning you CANNOT operate it on public roadways. Certain mopeds, electric bicycles, and other cycles can fall into this “toy vehicle” category if they don’t meet the criteria.
An autocycle is a type of motorcycle that has:
GENERALLY, you need a license and registration to operate an autocycle. Contact the Mississippi DPS at (601) 987-1212 to find out the type of license you need and the Motor Vehicle Licensing Bureau (601) 923-7200 at (601) 923-7200 to learn about autocycle titling and registration requirements.
The Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) has specific license and registration requirements for vehicles that don’t quite meet the criteria for a full-on motorcycle. Let’s see what you’ll need to do to get that moped, scooter, or autocycle out on the road.
In Texas, a moped is defined as a motor-driven cycle that:
If your vehicle exceeds any of the above criteria, then it’s automatically classified as a motorcycle.
To legally ride a moped in Texas, you must:
Once you’ve registered your moped and have the appropriate license, remember that:
In the state of Texas, motor-assisted scooters are self-propelled devices that have:
If this describes your scooter, contact your local driver license/registration and titling office for information regarding license and registration requirements—these can vary depending on local rules and regulations.
Autocycles are classified in Texas as vehicles with:
You need a Class C license to legally operate an autocycle in Texas.
To title and register your autocycle, follow the same process and requirements for standard motorcycles—head over to our page on registering a motorcycle in Texas for details.
Finally, you’re ALWAYS required to wear a helmet when riding an autocycle in TX, and must follow the same safety laws as motorcycles. Be sure to read through the Texas motorcycle manual for tips on riding and information on motorcycle rules and regulations.
In Texas, electric bicycles are bicycles that:
For the most part, the Texas laws and safety requirements for bicycles apply to electric bicycles as well. You must ALWAYS:
You must NEVER use your bicycle to:
All bicycles and electric bicycles must have with proper working brakes. If riding at nighttime, your bicycle must have:
When it comes to other types of vehicles that are allowed on public roads, the Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles (OMV) focuses mostly on motor-driven cycles, which are types of motorcycles that have motors with 5 horsepower or less.
Read on to learn more about the license, registration, and riding requirements for these types of vehicles.
The most common types of motor-driven cycles include motor scooters and mopeds (also referred to as motorized bikes).
Louisiana defines a moped/motorized bike as a pedal bicycle that:
To operate a motorized bike/moped, you must:
Again, because the state might categorize your motor-driven cycle differently based on its specifications, it’s best to contact the LA OMV before applying for a license or registration for your bike.
You must follow these safety laws when operating a motor-driven cycle such as a moped, motorized bike, or qualifying scooter:
On this page, we’ll find out how Georgia defines scooters, mopeds, motorbikes, and other motor-driven cycles and look at what kind of license you need to apply for with the GA Department of Driver Services (DDS) to ride these vehicles.
Georgia defines a moped as any motor-driven cycle with an engine displacement of no more than 50 cc.
To operate a moped in Georgia you:
Georgia requires you to follow the same traffic laws all other motor vehicle drivers must obey, noting especially that:
Georgia classifies any motor-driven cycle that meets the following criteria as a motorcycle, which can include motor scooters, motorbikes, and mini-bikes:
To legally ride a scooter, mini-bike, or motorbike, you must:
Similar to moped operators, people who operate scooters, motorbikes, and mini-bikes must obey the same traffic and safety laws as other Georgia drivers. Study Georgia’s Motorcycle Operator’s Manual and Driver’s Manual for details
The Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA) has clear definitions of motor scooters and mopeds, and there are certain licensing and registration requirements you must heed before hitting the road on one of these vehicles. Keep reading for more.
A motor scooter in Maryland is a motor vehicle with:
The MD MVA requires you to apply for a motor scooter title and decals.
You can operate a motor scooter with a valid driver’s license of any class. If you don’t have a driver’s license and are at least 16 years old, you can apply for a Maryland moped license, which permits you to drive both mopeds and motor scooters.
In Maryland, mopeds are bicycles that have:
You must title and request a decal for your moped.
Just like with mopeds, you can drive a motor scooter with a valid driver’s license of any class. If you don’t have a driver’s license, you can apply for a moped license as long as you’re at least 16 years old.
You must be at least 16 years old to apply for a moped license. Do so by going to your local full-service MVA office where you will need to:
Once you meet all requirements, pass the tests, and pay the fee, the MVA representative will give you a temporary moped license, which is valid until you receive your permanent license in the mail, typically within 10 days of making your application.
When you’re operating a motor scooter or moped, you:
Be sure to review Maryland’s motorcycle manual for more in-depth safety tips and rules.
The Michigan Secretary of State (SOS) has its own definition, licensing, and registration requirements for mopeds. You could also have a scooter, motorized bike, or other cycle on your hands, which will require some correspondence with the SOS to determine the best course of action.
Let’s find out what type of vehicle you have and what you need to do.
A moped is a motor vehicle that:
You must have a license and registration to operate a moped, which we’ll go over next.
You can operate a moped with a valid MI driver’s license or chauffeur’s license; however, if you have neither and are at least 15 years old, you can apply for a moped license*.
Applying for a moped license in Michigan is similar to applying for a driver’s license. Head to your local MI SOS office and:
If you’re younger than 20 1/2 years old, your moped license is valid until you turn 21 years old. Otherwise, your MI moped license expires 4 years from your last birthday.
Renewals are good for 4 years and cost $6.
*NOTE: You can’t have a driver’s or chauffeur’s license while also holding a moped license; if you eventually obtain a regular driver’s or chauffeur’s license, you must surrender your moped license to the Michigan SOS.
You must register your moped UNLESS you drive it ONLY on private property.
To register your moped, head to your local MI SOS office with:
You’ll receive a registration decal to affix to the back of your moped. Your registration is valid for 3 years and expires on April 30 of the year on your decal.
While riding your moped, you must follow all traffic laws and abide by the following regulations specific to mopeds:
For more information regarding rules of the road and moped safety tips, refer to the state’s brochure: Riding a Moped Safely (Form SOS-321).
Depending on their specifications, some motorized or electric scooters, motorized bikes, pocket rockets, mini-choppers, and other types of cycles might fit the definition of mopeds OR motorcycles.
GENERALLY, these vehicles don’t have the equipment required to legally operate on public roadways and therefore can’t be registered. However, sometimes these vehicles must be registered as a moped or motorcycle. Again, it all depends on their specs.
Since the requirements for these types of vehicles are fairly subjective, contact the MI SOS for more information specific to your cycle.
Minnesota’s Driver and Vehicle Services (DVS) has specific requirements regarding licenses, titles, and registrations for low-powered vehicles, and those requirements depend on whether you have a scooter, moped, electric bicycle, or less-common type of cycle. We’ll cover all of that with this guide.
Minnesota law doesn’t differentiate motor scooters from motorcycles in terms of licensing, title, and registration requirements.
A motor scooter’s build is what differentiates it from a motorcycle: you know you have a motor scooter if the cycle has:
If your cycle exceeds the specifications of the vehicles below, you probably have a motor scooter (or motorcycle), and must follow the same processes for title, registration, and licensing that are applicable to motorcycles in Minnesota before riding it.
If you’re unsure about whether you have a scooter or would like more information, contact the MN DVS for assistance.
You can operate a moped or motorized bike with a valid driver’s license. If you don’t have a license, you'll need to obtain a moped permit, which you must be at least 15 years old to apply for.
BEFORE going in to apply for a moped permit, you must complete a state-approved moped safety course. You may take the class if you are 14 years old, but you must wait until you’re 15 years old to apply for the permit.
Once you’ve completed your moped safety course, head to your local DVS office and:
Once you pass your knowledge test, the DVS will issue you a moped instruction permit valid for 30 days*. The instruction permit allows you to practice driving within 1 mile of your home before you take your on-cycle skills exam.
When your instruction period is up, it’s time to take your skills exam and apply for your full moped permit. Before going in for the skills test, review the Minnesota Motorcycle and Motorized Bicycle Manual for a quick refresher on moped riding laws and best practices.
When you feel prepared to take your on-cycle test, go back to the DVS office with:
*NOTE: If you’re younger 16 years old, you can only carry a parent or guardian with you as a passenger during this period.
When riding your moped or motorized bike in Minnesota, you must abide by the following moped-specific rules:
If your vehicle doesn’t fit into the moped or motorized bike category, you might have a low-power or unconventional vehicle. We’ve outlined some of the most common types below—including their licensing, title, and registration requirements—but you can refer to the state’s descriptions and regulations for traffic law details as well as additional vehicles.
A motorized foot scooter is a device that:
You must be at least 12 years old to operate a motorized foot scooter, and you DO NOT need a license or registration.
An electric bicycle is one that has:
You DO NOT need a license or registration, but you must be at least 15 years old to operate an electric-assisted bike.
In Minnesota, pocket bikes have various names: mini-bikes, mini-motorcycles, mini-choppers, etc.
Regardless of what you call it, you have one if it:
MOST OFTEN, pocket bikes aren’t allowed on public roads, so you don’t need to title or register them or have a special license. However, because models vary, it’s safest to contact the DVS for requirements specific to your bike.
If your vehicle has no more than 3 wheels, a motor with any size engine displacement, and no pedals and you want to drive it on public roads, you'll need a motorcycle license. This includes scooters (like Vespas). The type of motorcycle you'll be permitted to drive will depend upon the type of motorcycle you take your driving test on.
Motorized bicycles, which are also referred to as mopeds or electric-assisted bicycles, that have pedals and do not exceed 50 cc do not require a motorcycle endorsement. However, you will need a driver's license.
NOTE: A moped does not require registration.
Motor-assisted scooters are usually used by teens and children. Rules are a bit different for these. The state defines a motor-assisted scooter as a self-propelled vehicle that has:
You don't need to register or title these scooters.
If you're under 15 years old and driving while using the scooter, you must be under the "direct supervision" of your parent or legal guardian. What does that mean? It's defined as overseeing the rider at a distance at which contact is maintained and advice and assistance can be given and received.
If you're under 8 years old, you can't ride your scooter while using the motor on any public property, highway, path, or sidewalk.
In addition, each county may have its own additional rules regarding these vehicles, so it wouldn't hurt to check with local law enforcement before taking it out on the road.
Kentucky defines many motor-driven cycles as mopeds—and implements both moped license and registration requirements. With this guide, we’ll teach you all the preliminary steps you need to take before hitting the road on your moped.
In Kentucky, mopeds are motor-driven cycles with or without pedals that have:
If your vehicle doesn’t meet the above criteria and is not a motorcycle, it may fall under another class of motor-driven cycle that cannot be driven on public roadways.
In Kentucky, you are NOT required to register your moped. You do, however, need specific credentials to operate a moped. We’ll go over those next.
You must be at least 16 years old to operate a moped in Kentucky.
You can legally ride a moped if you already have a valid Kentucky:
If you don’t have any of the above credentials, you can apply for a Class E Moped License by heading to your circuit court clerk’s office, where you’ll need to:
Once you have your moped license, review the Kentucky Motorcycle Manual for tips and skills to keep you safe on the road.
NOTE: If you decide to apply for a regular driver’s license, motorcycle license, or commercial driver’s license later on, you must surrender the moped license to your county clerk’s office after obtaining your other permit or license.
If you have a moped, scooter, or motorized bicycle, make sure it’s street-legal before you take it on a ride. The North Carolina Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) has special rules that pertain to these vehicles.
Read on to learn more about these transportation options and how to operate them legally in North Carolina.
A moped in North Carolina is classified as a motor vehicle—aside from a motorized bicycle—that has:
To ride a moped on NC highways or public areas, you:
Electric-assisted bicycles, or E-bikes, are defined by North Carolina’s DMV as cycles that have:
E-bikes do not require:
North Carolina’s definition of a motor-driven bicycle is a non-electric powered vehicle that has:
Sometimes law enforcement agencies put motor-driven bicycles in the same class as mopeds, so be sure to check with your local DMV office to see if you need to register your motorized bicycle.
Mopeds, scooters, and motorized bicycles are great for enjoying the open road. But before you make that purchase, make sure you know the rules and restrictions that apply to your vehicle.
Fortunately, the South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) has a clear set of guidelines so you can hit the road safely and legally.
A moped is defined by South Carolina as a cycle that has:
Mopeds can, but are not required to, have functioning pedals.
Mopeds are required to be registered and have a license plate. Titling your moped is not required but is recommended.
To register your moped you must bring to the DMV:
You can ride a moped with a basic driver’s license in South Carolina. If you DO NOT have a basic auto license, you can get a moped license through the SCDMV. See the section below for details on getting a moped license.
If you DO NOT have a South Carolina driver’s license and you want to ride a moped, you can get a moped license instead. You must be at least 14 years old.
Visit your local DMV office with:
You’ll have to pass vision and knowledge tests. You are not required to pass a road skills test to get a South Carolina moped license.
To drive a motorcycle with 3 wheels—often referred to as a trike, you DO NOT need a motorcycle license. You can drive these vehicles with any license EXCEPT a moped license.
Autocycles are similar vehicles that are rapidly gaining popularity. Like motorcycles and trikes, autocycles are vehicles that operate with no more than 3 wheels.
Unlike trikes, autocycles have a:
Autocycle drivers are required to hold at least a Class D basic auto license.
Both vehicle types are required to be:
For information on insuring, registering, and titling these vehicles please contact your local DMV office, or call the SC DMV at (803) 896-5000.
Covid winner - Golf industry 2021
Golf cart dies - Golf revolution
Small golf carts benefits
Golf and corona: changes in golf industry
Best moped scooter buying guides
WARNING & SAFETY TIPS to ride a big wheel scooter
TROUBLESHOOTING for fat tire electric scooter
FAQs about fat tire scooter
Buy coolest mopeds